Support the campaign

Support the campaign

The recent Covid lockdown has shown everyone how great our local streets can be. With low and slow traffic we can re-own the streets that are ours. People can walk and cycle and children can play, all in peace and quiet and safety. Before lockdown, our streets had been dysfunctional for decades. The domination by traffic had crept up so slowly many people did not question it. We must not allow the traffic to return and take the streets away from us again.

Islington Council have heard and are responding to their residents' demands. They are launching a People-Friendly Streets in St Peter's in July, followed quickly by Canonbury, Highbury, Clerkenwell, Nags Head and St Marys, all planned for this year. So far Barnsbury has not been mentioned but we want our neighbourhood to be next in line. January 2021 maybe? [Update: Barnsbury planned for implementation by March 2021] We need to give the Council all the public support we can.

Firstly, please use their Commonplace map. This is part of the Council's on-going consultation so it's really important that we all add pins where changes need to be made or where great changes have already been made, or 'like' the pins that are already there. And don’t just look at your local streets – add comments to any areas where things could be better.

Second, please publicise your support wherever you have access: speak to your neighbours, write letters to local papers, post on Facebook, Twitter, NextDoor, put posters in your front windows. The Council must be told that we want People Friendly Streets in Barnsbury and St Mary's, and we want it now!

Islington Gazette: gazette.letters@archant.co.uk

Islington Tribune: letters@islingtontribune.com

Finally, our ward councillors would be very pleased to receive your support directly. You can say as much or as little as you want but do say "I support People Friendly Streets".

Barnsbury

Councillor Rowena Champion, Executive Member for Environment and Transport, rowena.champion@islington.gov.uk

Councillor Jilani Chowdhury, jilan92@hotmail.com

Councillor Mouna Hamitouche MBE, mouna.hamitouche@islington.gov.uk

Copy: peoplefriendlystreets@islington.gov.uk

St Mary's

Councillor Angela Picknell, angela.picknell@islington.gov.uk

Councillor Gary Poole, gary.poole@islington.gov.uk

Councillor Nurullah Turan, nurullah.turan@islington.gov.uk

Copy: peoplefriendlystreets@islington.gov.uk