Support the campaign

Support the campaign

The COVID lockdowns have shown everyone how great our local streets can be. With low and slow traffic we can re-own and re-imagine the streets that are ours. People can walk and cycle and children can play, all in peace and quiet and safety. Before lockdown, our streets had been dysfunctional for decades. The domination by traffic had crept up so slowly many people did not question it. We must not allow the traffic to return and take the streets away from us again.

Islington Council have heard and are responding to their residents' demands. They launched a People-Friendly Streets in St Peter's in July 2020, followed quickly by Canonbury, Highbury and Clerkenwell. Cally, St Mary's and Barnsbury must be next in line. We need to give the Council all the public support we can.

How can you help and make a difference? Speak to your neighbours, write letters to local papers, post on Facebook, Twitter, NextDoor, put posters in your front windows. The Council must be told that we want People Friendly Streets in Barnsbury and St Mary's, and we want it now!

Islington Gazette: gazette.letters@archant.co.uk

Islington Tribune: letters@islingtontribune.com

Our ward councillors would be very pleased to receive your support directly. You can say as much or as little as you want but do say "I support People Friendly Streets".

Barnsbury

Councillor Rowena Champion, Executive Member for Environment and Transport, rowena.champion@islington.gov.uk

Councillor Jilani Chowdhury, jilani.chowdhury@islington.gov.uk

Councillor Mouna Hamitouche MBE, mouna.hamitouche@islington.gov.uk

Copy: peoplefriendlystreets@islington.gov.uk

St Mary's

Councillor Angela Picknell, angela.picknell@islington.gov.uk

Councillor Gary Poole, gary.poole@islington.gov.uk

Councillor Nurullah Turan, nurullah.turan@islington.gov.uk

Copy: peoplefriendlystreets@islington.gov.uk


Share Tweet Send
0 Comments
Loading...
You've successfully subscribed to Low Traffic Barnsbury & St Mary's
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to Low Traffic Barnsbury & St Mary's
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.