🙌🏼 Active transport! 🙌🏼

1 min read
🙌🏼 Active transport! 🙌🏼
Photo by Jack Finnigan / Unsplash

As a doctor working at a busy North London Hospital I have started to notice a brilliant change as a result of Islington council's active transport and people friendly streets policies.

There has been a steady increase in the number of patients choosing active modes of transport to attend their hospital appointments. Just last week a 70 year old patient was proudly showing me photographs of her new bicycle and telling me how much she enjoyed her cycle to clinic. She was encouraged to try cycling by the #lowtrafficislington group.

I am of course aware that not all patients are able to travel by foot, wheel or public transport, however, where they can, it's fantastic for me to see their journey to the hospital benefitting their mental and physical health.

Dr R.

Published in Islington Tribune on 5 August 2021